Melanne Verveer is the executive director of the Georgetown University Institute for Women, Peace and Security. She was the United States Ambassador for Global Women's Issues, from 2009 to 2013.

Zainab Bangura was the United Nations special envoy on sexual violence in conflict, from 2012 to 2017. She is now the chairperson of the World Movement for Democracy's steering committee and a co-chair of Oxfam's Independent Commission on Sexual Misconduct, Accountability and Culture Change.

  •  October 11, 2018 
WASHINGTON, D.C. — The Norwegian Nobel Committee awarded this year’s Nobel Peace Prize to Nadia Murad, a human-rights activist from Iraq’s Yazidi minority, and to Denis Mukwege, a Congolese physician, for their fight against sexual violence as a weapon of war. On the one-year anniversary of the reporting that sparked the #MeToo movement, the committee’s recognition …

Don't Miss a Story:

Subscribe to PassBlue

Sign up to get the smartest news on the UN by email, joining readers across the globe.​

We respect your privacy and take protecting it seriously​